The National Courts Administration 


The National Courts Administration is an independent central agency that serves the entire court system. The National Courts Administration falls within the administrative branch of the Ministry of Justice.

The Administration is responsible for ensuring that the courts are able to maintain a high level of quality in the exercise of their judicial powers and that the administration of the courts is organized in an efficient and appropriate manner. The National Courts Administration is responsible for the central administrative functions of all courts, and organises training to judges and other court personnel in cooperation with the Judicial Training Board.

An eight-member Board of Directors exercises the highest decision-making power in the National Courts Administration. The daily business of the National Courts Administration is managed by a Director-General.

The Administration has three departments responsible for finance, development and administration. The National Courts Administration employs approximately 45 people.

The Administration began its operations on 1 January 2020. The National Courts Administration is located in Tikkurila, Vantaa.