EJTN’s 2019 General Assembly held June 27-28 in Bucharest

Friday, June 14, 2019

  • EJTN’s 2019 General Assembly was held in Bucharest.
  • Mr Markus Brückner elected to serve for the next term (1 January 2020 to 31 December 2022) of EJTN Secretary General.
  • EJTN’s Steering Committee, Working Group Conveners and Working Group members elected to serve for the next term (1 January 2020 to 31 December 2022).
  • The seminal EJTN Strategic Plan 2021–2027 was adopted.
  • A new Member and Observer joined the EJTN Network.

EJTN’s 2019 General Assembly was held June 27 and 28 in Bucharest, Romania. The event was particularly important as a new Secretary General and Steering Committee for EJTN was elected and EJTN’s future course was set with the adoption of the new EJTN Strategic Plan 2021–2027.

The 2019 EJTN General Assembly was opened with welcome addresses by the Host and President of the General Assembly, Mrs Cristina Rotaru-Radu, Director of the National Institute of Magistracy of Romania as well as by Judge Wojciech Postulski, Secretary General of the EJTN. The delegates then enjoyed several prestigious keynote speeches from Mrs Ana Birchall, Minister of Justice of Romania, Mrs Simona Camelia Marcu, Judge at the High Court of Cassation and Justice and Member of the High Council of Magistracy of Romania along with representative of the European Commission, Directorate-General Justice and Consumers, Mr Peter Csonka, Head of Unit, B.1 General criminal law and judicial training.

Following the speeches, a report on EJTN’s 2018 activities was delivered by Judge Wojciech Postulski and Mr Churou Kone, EJTN’s Accounting Manager, as well as Ms Wiebke Dettmers and Dr Alexander Pirker, EJTN’s Internal Auditors. EJTN’s 2018 accounts were then unanimously approved. Judge Wojciech Postulski continued with a presentation of EJTN’s upcoming 2020 activities, the 2020 budget was approved and an update on EJTN’s partnerships was provided.

Charting the future – the EJTN Strategic Plan 2021–2027 adopted
In a time-honoured tradition, an annual report was provided by EJTN’s Steering Committee Chair, Mr Élie Renard, Deputy Director of the French National School for the Judiciary (ENM). Of great significance for the future of EJTN, the Steering Committee provided an overview of the EJTN Strategic Plan 2021–2027 that was up for formal adoption. The presentation highlighted what has been achieved so far, the methodology behind the strategy and the content and proposed implementation of the strategy. The new strategic plan, which was then unanimously adopted, frames the Network’s future orientations, goals, relations with its actors as well as outlines EJTN’s planned activities.

As a sign of EJTN’s continued growth, the General Assembly approved a new Member into the Network, namely, the General Prosecutor’s Office of Finland. Also approved was a change with another Finnish Member. With the creation of the new National Court Administration in the country, the current Membership of the Ministry of Justice of Finland will be changed to Membership of the National Court Administration, effective from 1 January 2020.

A new Observer was also welcomed to EJTN, the National Prosecution Academy of Ukraine. The three judicial training institutions from the United Kingdom, namely the Judicial College from England & Wales, the Judicial Studies Board from Northern Ireland and the Judicial Institute for Scotland, will become Observers of EJTN within a post-Brexit scenario.

An important new dimension in EJTN’s future endeavours was approved, which will see the expansion of the EJTN to address court staff training and the welcoming of court staff training institutions into the EJTN fold. Changes to EJTN’s Articles of Association to accommodate this were subsequently approved at the General Assembly.

Continuing a well-received innovation from previous years, the General Assembly again hosted interactive activity fairs and workshops that addressed EJTN’s proposed activities. Each of the three Working Groups as well as Sub-Working Groups had a dedicated workshop, represented by its respective Convener and associated EJTN manager, which was rich with discussion and exchange.

Elections: Secretary General, Steering Committee and Working Groups
On the second day of the General Assembly, prior to the elections, presentations of the amendments to the EJTN Articles of Association, EJTN’s Membership Fees and EJTN’s Corporate Financial Police were given. These three elements were then formally ratified.

This year’s General Assembly witnessed elections for the office of the EJTN Secretary General as well as for the members of the Steering Committee. The Conveners of EJTN’s three Working Groups as well as the composition of each Working Group were also decided during the elections.

Mr Markus Brückner was elected for the office of the EJTN Secretary General. His mandate will begin in January 2020 and continue through to the end of December 2022.

The following institutions were elected to become members of the Steering Committee, the mandate of this Steering Committee will run through to the end of December 2022.

  • Federal Ministry of Constitutional Affairs, Reforms, Deregulation and Justice – Austria
  • The Judicial Training Institute – Belgium
  • National Institute of Justice – Bulgaria
  • Academy of European Law
  • The French National School for the Judiciary – France
  • The School for the Judiciary – Italy
  • Studiecentrum Rechtspleging – The Netherlands
  • The Centre for Judicial Studies – Portugal
  • The Centre for Legal Studies – Spain

The following Conveners were elected for the new mandates of EJTN's three Working Groups, which also run from January 2020 to December 2022:

  • The Academy of European Law as Convener of the Working Group Programmes
  • The Judicial Training Institute of Belgium as Convener of the Working Group Exchange Programme
  • The Centre For Judicial Studies of Portugal as Convener of the Working Group Judicial Training Methods.

Unity, courage and foresight
At the close of day two, a presentation on the next General Assembly, under the future Croatian Presidency of the Council of the European Union, was held by Ms Andrea Posavec Franić, Director of the Croatian Judicial Academy. Closing speeches by Judge Wojciech Postulski and Cristina Rotaru-Radu then marked the end of the 2019 General Assembly.

The EJTN 2019 General Assembly was a particularly significant event, which will be remembered for the unity, courage and foresight on display. EJTN will proudly continue providing top-quality training and resources to Europe’s judiciary and delivering outstanding value for money and operational transparency for its Members and stakeholders.